Special Education Advisory Committee (SEAC)

The Special Education Advisory Committee (SEAC) is an advisory committee mandated by the Ministry of Education to advise the Board on any issues related to students with diverse or exceptional learning needs including special education needs. The members of the committee include representatives of local associations, members of the school board, Aboriginal representatives, and may include additional members who do not belong to any of these groups. 

For more information about SEAC roles and responsibilities, you may wish to visit the Ontario Ministry of Education's SEAC Learning website: http://seac-learning.ca/.  SEAC has a long history of active participation in supporting students with special education needs. SEAC supports the team approach to provide a Catholic Education which develops spiritual, intellectual, emotional, social and physical capabilities of each individual to live fully today and to meet the challenges of the future, thus enriching society. 

In keeping with legislation set out in Regulation 464/97, 11, 12(1), (2) of the Education Act, the roles and responsibilities of the SEAC of the Kenora Catholic District School Board include:

  1. To ensure that the rights of students with special needs within the Board are being met;
  2. To provide specific information, assistance and advice to parents and guardians whose children may require additional support;
  3. To make recommendations to the Board concerning the establishment and development of special education programs and services;
  4. To participate in the Board's annual budget process as it relates to special education; and
  5. To participate in the Board's annual review of the Special Education Plan.
The list below includes those names of the SEAC members for the 2017-2018 school year and their affiliations:

·         Norine Schram, Chair, Member at Large
·         Aimee Foucher, Vice-Chair, KACL Representative
·         Tom Fawcett, Member at Large
·         Diane VanderZande, Member at Large
.         Dianne Griffiths, Member at Large
-         Anne Sweeney, Trustee Representative

2019 / 2020 Special Education Advisory Committee Schedule:  All meetings begin at 1:30 PM


Friday, September 20, 2019

Catholic Education Centre

Friday, October 18, 2019

Catholic Education Centre

Friday, November 15, 2019

Catholic Education Centre

Friday, December 20, 2010

Catholic Education Centre

Friday, January 17, 2020

Ste-Marguerite Bourgeoys School

Friday, February 21, 2020

St. Louis School

Friday, March 27, 2020

Pope John Paul II School

Friday, April 17, 2020

St. Thomas Aquinas High School

Tuesday, May 19, 2020

St. John School/CEC Board Room

Friday, June 19, 2020

Catholic Education Centre